Follow me. Living and learning.

Welcome readers.

I am new to WordPress. So first and foremost thank you for visiting my blog. Please follow my journey and read as I turn my back on my past and follow an uncertain life journey. My goal – Hacking Life!

My name is Matt Bristow, I grew up in a small town by the name of Pinjarra in Western Australia. I am an avid martial arts fan, and ex-amatuer fighter. I have achieved black belt in Shotokan Karate under 6th degree black belt Sensai Phil Butler. I was a muay thai fighter for a brief period of 3 years and have dabbled in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu on and off for approximately 3 years. I grew up on Bruce Lee films and a dream. Love Mixed Martial Arts, and Wrestling, BJJ, and Muay Thai individually.

Stopped training contact martial arts when my kids started growing up and I had become increasingly interested in neuroscience and cognitive psychology. This is when the fear of brain disease such as CTE (chronic traumatic encephalopathy) kicked in. Nothing else deterred me from the sport until then.

Now I focus on training my brain instead and making a better life for my family. I am very interested in education and the psychology behind learning. I have also become obsessed with language learning. 

The attractiveness of being such a great martial artist for me can be put down to 2 reasons.

1: Being a romantic of the sport: Considering it an art form and a way of life.

2. The thrill of the kill: Being attracted to the power of completely dominating another man in a fair contest simply by being superior.

This idea of superiority doesn’t seem so attractive though when you see these fighters later in life, living as confused individuals with dementia or CTE (Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy). It takes all your dignity.

I remember during my time in prison, working as a prison officer, I knew a man in his late 50’s who was a state boxing champion in his youth. He also has had his dignity taken and much more. He wound up in prison rather than a mental hospital, where he should have been, and the other inmates made fun of him and gave him trouble because of his slow mind.

Relying on a carer, being a burden to my children or winding up an inmate or a patient at a mental health facility is not how I wish to end my life. While leaving a legacy behind is a nice notion, I should have taken up my other favourite sport.. Tennis. Ive never trained this though.. ohwell, when I am rich and old and fat I can always do that as a hobby later and be one of those goofy middle aged men, still stuck in a midlife crisis as a senior, jumping around sporting fluro colours and a Rafael Nadal headband.

This is why I gave up on a sport I thought was the greatest thing. My purpose in life was suddenly gone. Now 28, I ask myself…what now?

I think now my family is more of a focus money has become more of a focus too. However, spending is not frugal because my wife and I want to give a decent standard of life to our two girls. A good education and good experiences.

So, while I don’t promise bling, exotic cars, lavish houses or amazing getaways. I do hope such things will eventuate as a biproduct of my actions.

Thanks guys and gals. Your the best. Hope you all can keep tuned for more blogs to come.

-Matt Bristow

Leave a Reply

